Australian Grand Prix

FIA Formula One race
Leyburn Airfield, Leyburn, Australia
September 18, 1949
35 laps on 4.3 mile road course; 150.5 miles

Fin St Driver # Owner Car Laps Money Status Laps Led
   John Crouch       Delahaye 135  35     running   
   Ray Gordon       MG TC S/C  35     running   
   Arthur Rizzo       Riley 1.5  35     running   
   Peter Critchley       MG TB Najar  35     running   
   Allan Larsen       Regal/Cadillac  35     running   
   Curley Brydon       MG TC  35     running   
   Irwin Luke       Bugatti T37  35     running   
   Theo Trevethan       Ford V8  35     running   
   H McGuire       MG TC  35     running   
10     Col Robinson       MG TC  35     running   
11     Jack Wright       Vauxhall/Ford V8  35     running   
12     Vic Johnson       MG TC  27     did not finish   
13     Dick Bland       Ford V8  26     tires   
14     Frank Kleinig       Hudson 8  21     overheating   
15     John Nind       MG TB  20     connecting rod   
16     Garry Coglan       MG TC S/C  16     piston   
17     Ken Tubman       MG K3  12     fuel   
18     Snow Sefton       Strathpine/Ford V8  11     overheating   
19     Charlie Whatmore       Studebaker Speedcar  10     fuel   
20     Les Taylor       MG TC  10     seized engine   
21     Keith Thallon       Jaguar SS100  10     did not finish   
22     Doug McDonald       Bugatti/Dodge     fuel line   
23     Keith Saunders       Cadillac     connecting rod   
24     Rex Law       Buick Century     condensor   
25     Dick Cobden       MG TC     clutch   
26     Arthur Bowes       Hudson Speedcar     oil pump   
27     Ross Gray       GK/Ford V8     ignition   
28     George Pearse       MG TB     piston   

Notes: John Pike withdrew after practice since stones were being kicked up from the track and damaging his new car.
L. Johnson arrived without a car, but with a healthy supply of alcohol. He did not race.
Time of race: 01:49:25
Average Speed: 82.526 MPH